How to survive FIFA Women’s World Cup and/or a zombie apocolypse!

Standard

The FIFA experience is almost over, next week myself and 2 friends will be heading to Vancouver to watch the finals and we  can’t wait.

Overall, it was an incredible ride with lots of twists, turns, highs and lows but at the end of the day I feel tremendous pride of what we accomplished and how we showcased our city. Winnipeg, you done good girl!

Some of the memories I will take away with me are; meeting all the dads who came out with their daughters to encourage their passion for sport, working so hard I for the first time in my life blacked out, didn’t recognize one of my closest friends and had “stress pukes” (it’s a real thing, who knew?), meeting and spending time with 24 of the best volunteers was incredible (kind, hard working, honest, determined and totally genuine people), and finally, watching my male sport dominate city embrace and support women in sport ~ it was a beautiful thing!

Here are the things that helped me survive 21 days of the hardest work of my life, this was my survival kit:

1) Wet ones! You cannot leave home without them because Wet oneswhen you are marching across a soccer pitch in 28+ degree weather in a navy blue power pant suit, you will need a little wipe down to stay fresh (Terrance Howard is no fool).

2) Snacks, it’s all about the food! I tried really, really hard to stay on track with my P2P (Push-up to Pin-ups) goals but around day 18 everything went to hell but I have rebounded. I survived on a) sugar snap peas b) rotisserie chicken and kale salad from Sobeys c) an obscene amount of roasted Brussels sprouts d) cauliflower rice e) homemade meatballs and CAFFEINE – Lord Jesus, I drank caffeine all day!!!

God's sweet nectar!

God’s sweet nectar!

3) Songza. After a couple grueling days I reminded myself I need to set the tone of the day and not the hundreds of voices asking me a million questions. So, I would go in a little earlier each day, sit at my desk and pop on Songza, to be exact “Wake Up Smiling, Oldies Morning”. It worked like a charm every day!Songza

4) Downy Infusions. When you are wearing the same clothes for Infusions16-18 hours a day you need them to smell good all day. Downy Infusions is your best defense plus the smell is hypnotic (Derek stop rolling your eyes, it’s an addiction – I know!).

5) One great husband. Oh man, I am a

Lawn mowing #selfie

Lawn mowing #selfie

lucky gal! Without Mr. Derek Taylor I would  NEVER have made it through this experience. He kept the house clean, he walked the dogs, he rubbed my feet, he held my hand as I fell asleep, he entertained our house renters (who ps. were totally amazing!!!), he mowed the lawn and he was patient ~ boy, was he patient!

6) GREAT friends! As always my friends supported me, encouraged me, kicked me straight in the butt when it needed to be kicked and reminded me how they have truly impacted my life more than they will ever know. Plus, I think I may now have converted a couple of them into hardcore soccer fans.

7) My Tim Horn. He was my right-hand man through out the Mr. Tim Hornentire ride and as far as co-pilots go, T-bone is right up there. He is kind, sweet, keen and looks great in a pair of Doc Martins.

So, if you find yourself taking on FIFA or a zombie apocalypse which I think would be on par to what I just went through, all you need to do is arm yourself with some great friends, awesome tunes, food and wet naps and you are set!

Be good my friends!

F

Alex Morgan

Leave a Reply

